The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support STM Tuned
Please Support ExtremePSI

Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX Maintenance Fee

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sivl92

Probationary Member
Feb 3, 2012
Edmond, Oklahoma
Hi! I'm an international student and I just landed in Edmond, Oklahoma 4 weeks ago and I'm planning to buy a Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX. Before I do that, I wanted to ask whether the cost of maintaining an Eclipse GSX is high or low. Do I need to be always repairing it?

Expensive is a relative term, it will also depend on if you do the work yourself or take it to a shop.

For the most part, they are pretty cheap and fairly easy to work on.

I'm just afraid that after I buy it there will be a lot of problems with it and I'll need to use a lot just to work on it. Because I'm planning to modify it a little bit like, front mounted intercooler, a better intake, if the turbo is not in a good condition I'll change it, sway bars, brakes if needed, cat-back exhaust and repaint if needed.

So yea That's practically what I have in mind right now. I'm just afraid like as soon as I got it, things starts to break down and I'll need tons of cash to repair them.

Maybe you would be better off buying a new car with a warranty and leaving it stock. Older cars will break and they will cost money to fix; the more you modify/ enhance the performance the more risk you are taking of having it break.