The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support ExtremePSI
Please Support Rix Racing

A thread for reading spark plugs

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

red1993gsallmt

20+ Year Contributor
Dec 30, 2002
long branch, New_Jersey
I really think it would be a good idea to have a thread about reading plugs for tuning. Last night I was helping a friend tune a bbc with a aem wideband but had a gut feeling the car was lean even though the wideband was saying other words, sure enough we may have saved his motor just by old fashion plug reading. Im not good with pics but maybe someone has a good pic of a plug from a well tuned car so we can show others what parts of the plug show you timing, a/f, heat range, detonation, etc. Todays sensors are great but plugs never lie.

Pics here

http://www.ngksparkplugs.com/tech_support/spark_plugs/faqs/faqread.asp

Home » Tech Support » Spark Plugs » Faqs
FAQs - Spark Plugs

Q: How do I "read" a spark plug?

A: Being able to "read" a spark plug can be a valuable tuning aid. By examining the insulator firing nose color, an experienced engine tuner can determine a great deal about the engine's overall operating condition.

In general, a light tan/gray color tells you that the spark plug is operating at optimum temperature and that the engine is in good condition. Dark coloring, such as heavy black wet or dry deposits can indicate an overly-rich condition, too cold a heat range spark plug, a possible vacuum leak, low compression, overly retarded timing or too large a plug gap.