1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Trouble Logging In or Staying Logged In?

    CLEAR YOUR BROWSER COOKIES! More info about this can be found here. If you still have trouble after clearing your browser's cookies and cache, reply to that thread and tell us what browser you're using and what device you're using.

1G Wiring up Dynatek Arc 2 to 1990 1g

Posted by perrytheplatypus157, Feb 23, 2018

Please Support Southbay Fuel Injectors
  1. perrytheplatypus157

    perrytheplatypus157 Proven Member

    40
    1
    Joined Jun 18, 2017
    Fall River, Wisconsin
    I have the worst part of the wiring done as far as the tach interface side of things. All I have left is the 1990 1g coil pack and the arc2 plug that's wired for the 2g dsm. My question is, which wires from the arc2 2g plug go to which wires of the 1g coil pack? I apologize for the poor pic.

    White wire that goes to coil 2 and 3.
    Red wire goes to 1 and 4
    Black/White wire goes to both coils.
    Then there is the 2g plug with white, blue, and a black wire.
     

    Log in/Register to remove ads

    Attached Files:

    My DSM:
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    11.49 @ 127.56 MPH
    Loading...
  2. DJRace

    DJRace Proven Member

    75
    20
    Joined Feb 9, 2017
    Walla Walla, Washington
    Pins 1&2 one coil
    Pins 9&10 to the other.
    Dont forget the switched 12v too.
    Check this out for reference:
    Screenshot_2018-02-23-17-00-41-1.png
     
    My DSM:
    1997 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    Rally Build

    16g   manual
    Loading...
    mitsubishikid likes this.
  3. lasthope05

    lasthope05 Proven Member

    842
    176
    Joined Mar 31, 2006
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    From looking at my harness.

    White > White
    Blue > Red
    Black >Black
     
  4. 1990TSIAWDTALON

    1990TSIAWDTALON Moderator

    3,085
    968
    Joined Nov 14, 2013
    Independence, Kansas
    I converted my Arc2 box on my living room floor. I need to write it up I guess. I hope one of these pictures is helpful. Let me know if there is any other shots that you might need. This converted it all over to a 1990 harness. Works great on mine. Change the triangle plug on the Arc2 to the square 1990 plug. I bought all of my connectors from members on here. :thumb: 20151114_110607.jpg 20151114_110307.jpg 20151114_103353.jpg 20151114_082050.jpg 20151114_100710.jpg 20151114_101532.jpg 20151114_110607.jpg 20151114_110307.jpg 20151114_103353.jpg 20151114_082050.jpg 20151114_100710.jpg 20151114_101532.jpg 20151114_101614.jpg 20151114_110320.jpg 20151114_110327.jpg
     
    My DSM:
    1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    Street Build

    14b   automatic
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    13.620 @ 108.460 MPH
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    13.612 @ 107.760 MPH
    Loading...
    mitsubishikid and ErikTande like this.
  5. perrytheplatypus157

    perrytheplatypus157 Proven Member

    40
    1
    Joined Jun 18, 2017
    Fall River, Wisconsin
    Alright, I got it wired up. The only thing is now it only fires on cylinders 1 and 4. It throws a 044 ignition circuit malfunction code. I was thinking it wasn't getting spark but cylinders 2 and 3 are definitely getting it. I used a spark tester to see it spark while running. my settings on the box are single spark, rising edge, and crank.

    Also, what's this box? Do I need it or can I bypass it?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 23, 2018
    My DSM:
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    11.49 @ 127.56 MPH
    Loading...
  6. 1990TSIAWDTALON

    1990TSIAWDTALON Moderator

    3,085
    968
    Joined Nov 14, 2013
    Independence, Kansas
    My DSM:
    1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    Street Build

    14b   automatic
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    13.620 @ 108.460 MPH
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    13.612 @ 107.760 MPH
    Loading...
    19gsx91 likes this.
  7. 1990TSIAWDTALON

    1990TSIAWDTALON Moderator

    3,085
    968
    Joined Nov 14, 2013
    Independence, Kansas
    my settings on the box are single spark, rising edge, and crank.

    Also, what's this box? Do I need it or can I bypass it?[/QUOTE]

    Perry, you are a 1g, change the last switch to CAM from crank. You don't have a crank sensor, you have a cas, cam angle sensor. That shud fix it. :thumb:
     
    My DSM:
    1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    Street Build

    14b   automatic
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    13.620 @ 108.460 MPH
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    13.612 @ 107.760 MPH
    Loading...
  8. lasthope05

    lasthope05 Proven Member

    842
    176
    Joined Mar 31, 2006
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    What he has is correct. It is suppose to be set to crank for our wasted spark ignition. Cam is for sequential spark.

    I would start by double checking your wiring. Not sure what you were doing but you don't need to wire in the factory tach interface. Delete it and use the tach output from the arc 2.

    For my setup I deleted the tach adapter and ptu and wired it directly to get rid of the tach adapter dynatek supplies as I hear it's a common failure point.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2018
  9. 1990TSIAWDTALON

    1990TSIAWDTALON Moderator

    3,085
    968
    Joined Nov 14, 2013
    Independence, Kansas
    Well I run cam and multi strike both. Car loves me. Its the flip of a dip switch and worth a try over digging around for a half hr or more. I stand by, awaiting a reply from Perry :)
     
    My DSM:
    1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    Street Build

    14b   automatic
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    13.620 @ 108.460 MPH
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    13.612 @ 107.760 MPH
    Loading...
  10. lasthope05

    lasthope05 Proven Member

    842
    176
    Joined Mar 31, 2006
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    You must not have used the launch control yet because it effects the rpm selection.

    Also OP, it is best to wire the tach interface to the engine harness vs the arc2 plug and play harness. If you ever needed to remove the arc 2 you'd still be able to plug in coil pack and be able to drive with a working tach/rpm signal. That old write-up from DSMtalk is dated.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2018
  11. 1990TSIAWDTALON

    1990TSIAWDTALON Moderator

    3,085
    968
    Joined Nov 14, 2013
    Independence, Kansas
    Nope. I use it only as my ignition amplifier. Link is where my launch controls are performed. The 3 extra wires don't concern me so I isolate them. This is in a 1990 which is what the thread is about.
    I looked to see what car you are working with but your dsm profile is empty.....
     
    My DSM:
    1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    Street Build

    14b   automatic
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    13.620 @ 108.460 MPH
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    13.612 @ 107.760 MPH
    Loading...
  12. lasthope05

    lasthope05 Proven Member

    842
    176
    Joined Mar 31, 2006
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    You're missing out. The arc 2 has a way better ignition cut launch control. More boost off the line and tighter rpm swings for better consistency. My profile is in my signature over on the link forums. I don't have a need for one here.;)
     
  13. 1990TSIAWDTALON

    1990TSIAWDTALON Moderator

    3,085
    968
    Joined Nov 14, 2013
    Independence, Kansas
    Nah, I'm not missing anything. OP asks about a Arc2 in a 1990. I got it.
    My sons 97 Talon uses the launch controls on the box. Since my car ran fantastic the way I wired it from day one, I really don't need to change it, but I am trying to help Perry get all 4 firing. :) :thumb:
    If Perry wires his like mine, he can unplug a dead or malfunctioning Arc2 box and plug his coils back in and continue on, although the tach won't work if we ever have to do that. ;)
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2018
    My DSM:
    1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    Street Build

    14b   automatic
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    13.620 @ 108.460 MPH
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    13.612 @ 107.760 MPH
    Loading...
  14. perrytheplatypus157

    perrytheplatypus157 Proven Member

    40
    1
    Joined Jun 18, 2017
    Fall River, Wisconsin
    Alright. I've been messing around with it today. Everything seems to be wired up in the correct fashion. After trying a bunch of different options as far as different coils, wires, and grounds, I've found that my car runs poorly only if both of the tach interfaces are hooked up. If one is hooked up, the car runs perfectly again but with no tach. Either one can be hooked up and the car doesn't care, it just won't show me the RPMs. Sorry about the late reply. The shed gets poor reception and the page would refresh but wouldn't show new responses.
     
    My DSM:
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    11.49 @ 127.56 MPH
    Loading...
  15. lasthope05

    lasthope05 Proven Member

    842
    176
    Joined Mar 31, 2006
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    That doesn't make sense. The car won't run at all if the arc2 tach adapter is removed. Without it install there would be no coil inputs to fire the coils.

    Do you have the tach interface wired in correctly? The two "in" pins get connected to either coil wire(yellow/black and yellow/green) and the "out" pin is the tach wire(white.) .They are the colors on the engine harness itself where I would recommend you attach them to, vs the PNP harness.

    Just to make sure you're not connecting the tach wire(bullet connector) right?
     
  16. perrytheplatypus157

    perrytheplatypus157 Proven Member

    40
    1
    Joined Jun 18, 2017
    Fall River, Wisconsin
    Sorry. When I meant I unplugged the tach adapter, I meant that I unplugged it but jumped each wire according to color so it was just bypassed. And I am not using the green tach wire that comes directly off of the CDI itself.
     
    My DSM:
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    11.49 @ 127.56 MPH
    Loading...
  17. lasthope05

    lasthope05 Proven Member

    842
    176
    Joined Mar 31, 2006
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    You probably have a bad tach adapter then. They tend to go bad. Its basically a dummy coil that generates a signal that the ptu/tach interface uses for tach output (why your gauge isn't working).

    Test the box and check the resistance between the two pairs of coil wires you are jumping. I think mine was around 170 ohms. Though I'm not sure that would help much to determine a faulty adapter or not.

    You could also use the green tach signal directly from the arc 2 but, I'm not sure if your gauge would read it because the 90 cluster was funky like that.
     
  18. perrytheplatypus157

    perrytheplatypus157 Proven Member

    40
    1
    Joined Jun 18, 2017
    Fall River, Wisconsin
    Do they tend to go bad being brand new?
     
    My DSM:
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    11.49 @ 127.56 MPH
    Loading...
  19. lasthope05

    lasthope05 Proven Member

    842
    176
    Joined Mar 31, 2006
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    Its not unheard of.....
     
  20. perrytheplatypus157

    perrytheplatypus157 Proven Member

    40
    1
    Joined Jun 18, 2017
    Fall River, Wisconsin
    I guess I'll check out what I've got for resistance and give Dynatek a call next week. Thanks!
     
    My DSM:
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    11.49 @ 127.56 MPH
    Loading...
  21. VisionPaintball

    VisionPaintball Supporting Member

    310
    19
    Joined Feb 24, 2005
    Keyport, New Jersey
    So if Im using a 90 coil pack do I just eliminate the tach interface and disregard the yellow, red, and white wires that are associated with it?
     
    My DSM:
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    GT40   automatic
    Loading...
  22. VisionPaintball

    VisionPaintball Supporting Member

    310
    19
    Joined Feb 24, 2005
    Keyport, New Jersey
    Right now my cool pack is soldered directly to the engine harness so I won't be swapping the the plug connectors.
     
    My DSM:
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    GT40   automatic
    Loading...
  23. 1990TSIAWDTALON

    1990TSIAWDTALON Moderator

    3,085
    968
    Joined Nov 14, 2013
    Independence, Kansas
    You have to wire the tach adaptor AHEAD of the ARC2 box. I have mine wired to plug and play and it works great.
    This write up was very helpful to me. I wired mine up with 1990 connectors in my kitchen, went out and plugged it in, and everything worked like a champ!

    https://www.dsmtalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=203681
     
    My DSM:
    1992 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    Street Build

    14b   automatic
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    13.620 @ 108.460 MPH
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    13.612 @ 107.760 MPH
    Loading...
  24. VisionPaintball

    VisionPaintball Supporting Member

    310
    19
    Joined Feb 24, 2005
    Keyport, New Jersey
    I don't want to use connectors. And I don't need a functioning tach. Do I disregard the yellow wire?
     
    My DSM:
    1990 Eagle Talon TSi AWD

    GT40   automatic
    Loading...

Share This Page

Loading...


Log in/Register to remove ads

Support Vendors who Support the DSM Community
Ace Race Parts Archer Fabrication Best Used Tires Boostin Performance ECM Tuning ExtremePSI Feal Suspension Fuel Injector Clinic Jacks Transmissions Jackson Auto Machine JNZ Tuning Kiggly Racing Magnus Motorsports Miller Import Parts Morrison Fabrications OHM Racing RockAuto SouthBay Fuel Injectors STM Tuned Tire Rack VR Speed Factory White Shed Speed