The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Rix Racing
Please Support STM Tuned

How to build a 2.3l

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bud92gsx

Welcome Wagon
Jan 16, 2008
Wisconsin, Wisconsin
Well im gonna stop being a noob here this summer, gets some racing under my belt.
My question is school me on the 2.3l. Thats a 2.0 block with the other crank.Now can I still use 2g pistons, and not have to use stroker stuff like stroker rods and pistons?

I need some help by the short block guys please.

It takes a custom crank (like ~94mm), so they are usually very pricey. Most of the wild ones I see come from JDM builders like JUN and Tomei for Evos. I think most people will just say build a 2.3 stroker using a 4G64 crank in a 4G63 block.

Last edited:
No, but why would you think about doing a halfass job. Also to add a 2.3l is the cheapest to build.

So then switch the convo to 2.3l build 4g block other crank..Id be happy with a 2.3 cheapest to build.

So back to 2.3 not 2.2.

The 2.3 stroker is the 4g63 block, with a 4g64(100mm) crank stuffed into it. Rods aren't any different, but the pistons need to be shorter.

I've read there might need to be a but of the block ground down to fit the crank, but that's it. It's that easy.

This is the set I plan on buying when my stock block goes:
Wiseco Pistons Eagle Rods 7 Bolt 4G63 4G63T Lancer Evo 4 5 6 7 8 - $799.99 : Real Street Performance Engine Parts, Pistons Rods Cams Valvetrain and More

This and go to a junk yard and pull any 7-bolt (or 6 if you need it) crank from a car.