The Top DSM Community on the Web

For 1990-1999 Mitsubishi Eclipse, Eagle Talon, Plymouth Laser, and Galant VR-4 Owners. Log in to remove most ads.

Please Support Morrison Fabrications
Please Support STM Tuned

Anyone Familiar with the 420a Engine and Willing to Help

This site may earn a commission from merchant
affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

99OZDSM

15+ Year Contributor
Jun 16, 2007
Virginia Beach, Virginia
I'm a student low on funds and need to make a decision by the end of summer.

I'm either selling my 99 420a and getting a GSX OR rebuilding my 420a with forged internals but meant to run as a reliable DD.

Basically if someone can help me with the 420a, I'll probably just keep it. I do all the basic maintenance myself, but want to learn the ins and outs if someone is willing to help me out.

2gnt.com

You're asking for help rebuilding it or help understanding it?

Also, The GSX is a much funner choice but the 420a will DD pretty well. Heavy choices to weigh.

If you rebuild the 420a, get a factory rebuild kit and be happy.
OEM-pistons, rods, upgraded head gasket and head bolts. New OEM water pump, timing belt and tensioners.

Proper maintenance and it will get 35+ miles to the gallon and still look great doing it. DD the crap out of it and save that hard earned money for the GSX.

Im speaking from experience on this when I say that the 420a can be a fun engine to rat rod around town but it's still FWD and still not worth it. I wouldnt put $3-$4k into this if you're already checking on GSX's. They are so much more fun to mod and drive not mentioning the amount of aftermarket support meant for the 4G63. The 420a doesnt even come close to that. Do as you wish, this is just my 2¢

I know 2GNT is a great source. I've only started doing some preliminary research.